#BeActive Awards: Acknowledging the #BeActive role models of 2020

On 8 December, the 2020 #BeActive Awards Ceremony was held as an online event, hosted by Raluca Anghel. The European Commission's awards scheme acknowledges projects and individuals dedicated to promoting sport and physical activity across Europe.

The awards celebrate the promoters of physical activity in three categories: #BeActive Education, #BeActive Workplace and #BeActive Local Hero. This year, the high-level jury received 95 entries, out of which nine entries were shortlisted, three in each category. The three winners were announced by Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth. They got awarded €10,000 each, while the finalists' work was recognised by €2,500 each.

The winner of the 2020 #BeActive Education Award:

Petra Preradovica, Primary School, Croatia

The other finalists of the 2020 #BeActive Education Award:

Gemeentelijke basisschool Het Nest, Belgium

Youth and Sports Department of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Commissioner Mariya Gabriel announces the winner of the #BeActive Education Award

The winner of the 2020 #BeActive Workplace Award:

House of Code, Denmark

The other finalists of the 2020 #BeActive Education Award:

Groupe Roullier, France

Generali, Slovenia

Raluca Anghel virtually hands over the trophy to House of Code, winner in the #BeActive Workplace category

The winner of the 2020 #BeActive Local Hero Award:

Tomas Slavata, Czech Republic

The other finalists of the 2020 #BeActive Local Hero Award:

Christine Janin, France

Mette Rytsel, Denmark

Tears of joy on Tomáš Slavata's face after receiving the #BeActive Local Hero Award

Congratulations to all finalists, you do make a difference in your communities through physical activity!

Finalists of the 2020 #BeActive Awards


All rights reserved © 2017 ENGSO | The European Non-Governmental Sports Organisation